Smoking sucks…but Nicotine…ehh might not be so bad Notes: What is POTS?: https://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/atrial-fibrillation/postural-orthostatic-tachycardia#1 Benefits of Nicotine: https://www.nootropedia.com/benefits-of-nicotine/ Nicotine, The Wonder Drug: https://www.discovermagazine.com/health/nicotine-the-wonder-drug\ Self Hacked Nicotine: https://selfhacked.com/blog/28-proven-health-benefits-nicotine-4-potential-risks/ Ugh Fields: https://www.lesswrong.com/posts/EFQ3F6kmt4WHXRqik/ugh-fields Immunosuppressive and Anti-Inflammatory Effects of Nicotine Administered by Patch in an Animal Model: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC404586/ Is Nicotine All Bad?: https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/is-nicotine-all-bad/ Is Nicotine Bad for you? : https://veppocig.com/pages/is-nicotine-bad-for-you/ […]

Podcast Episodes

January 8, 2020

Ep. 45 Nicotine: Wonder Drug or Supervillain?

Testosterone Replacement Therapy is gaining popularity with many advocates and detractors. Lucas and Brion explore the evolutionary basis for testosterone and how that can inform your choice on whether to get on TRT Notes: Testosterone prescribing in the United States, 2002-2016: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6396809/ Danish Study on Lowering T levels: https://academic.oup.com/jcem/article/92/12/4696/2597312#52560365 The He Hormone, 2000 New York […]

Podcast Episodes

January 1, 2020

Ep. 44 Testosterone Replacement Therapy: An Evolutionary Lens

Notes: Tim Berzins gives a great interview in this episode.  We talk about why regular weight loss strategies fail, and how to modify intermittent fasting to be less stressful and more effective. Amplified Vitality Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKjo9s34i85o3lVOIENT3IQ Amplified Vitality Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/amplifiedvitality Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amplifiedvitality/ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/timberzins/ Homepage: www.quaxpodcast.com

Podcast Episodes

December 18, 2019

Ep. 43 Interview with Tim Berzins: Fruit Intermittent Fasting and Bioenergetics

Lucas and Brion talk all things dental health. We give you two protocols you can follow to get those cavities filling in, and gums in tip top shape. Notes: Dr. Gerard Judd Protocol: https://www.healingteethnaturally.com/dr-gerard-f-judd-dental-researcher.html Good Teeth from Birth to Death: https://archive.org/details/GoodTeethBirthToDeathGerardJudd/page/n1 Glycerin 2005 Study: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16268396 Dr. Ellie’s Protocol PDF: https://issuu.com/zellies/docs/zellies-cmcsbooklet?mode=window Dr. Ellie’s Website: https://drellie.com/ Calcium […]

Podcast Episodes

December 11, 2019

Ep. 42 Dental Health: Filling in Cavities and Gum Regrowth

Lucas and Brion wade into women’s health and discuss Vitex which helps with PMS, infertility, and those pesky man boobs. Notes: Review of Herbal Extracts: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4528347/#CR41 Prolactin in Healthy Men: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9021345 Chasteberry not good for increasing lactation: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16156340 Gynecomastia in Men: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3987263/ Chastberry 2005 Review: https://www.aafp.org/afp/2005/0901/p821.html Luteal Phase Defects from high prolactin: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8369008 Hormone Levels […]

Podcast Episodes

December 4, 2019

Ep. 41 Vitex for PMS, Infertility, and Man Boobs

Lucas interviews Eric Maddox about his interrogations during the 2003 Iraq war, and what we can learn from the methods he developed. Army Staff Sergeant Eric Maddox was and is an interrogator who served in 2003 in Iraq, in South East Asia, and other places around the world.  He has more than 2700 interrogations under […]

Podcast Episodes

November 27, 2019

Ep. 40 Interview with Eric Maddox: Interrogation, Saddam Hussein, and Empathy Based Listening

Lucas and Brion talk about the news and delve into tattoo inks, home remedies for canker sores, and a life hack that could seriously change and extend your life. Notes: Everything you want to know about Canker Sores: https://www.cedars-sinai.org/blog/canker-sores.html Health Risks of Tattoo Ink: https://blogs.mercola.com/sites/vitalvotes/archive/2019/11/02/health-risks-of-tattoo-ink.aspx Tattoos Last, and so does the pain for 1 in […]

Podcast Episodes

November 20, 2019

Ep. 39 Tattoos, Canker Sores, and a Momentous Life Hack

From a very young age, Lucas Aoun became interested in the effects of certain foods and herbs on his physiological and psychological performance. When playing soccer, he monitored performance very closely and discovered that some supplements were having a drastic effect on reaction times, decision making and ability to the “read” the play. This then […]

Podcast Episodes

November 13, 2019

Ep. 38 Interview with Lucas Aoun: Neurotransmitters and Icing Your Scrotum

Learned Helplessness and Depression are crucial issues facing humanity today. Serotonin is the key to understanding these issues. Notes: What is Serotonin Health Line: https://www.healthline.com/health/mental-health/serotonin#functions Self-Hacked Serotonin: https://selfhacked.com/blog/serotonin-happy-neurotransmitter/ Depression Article The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/jan/07/is-everything-you-think-you-know-about-depression-wrong-johann-hari-lost-connections?fbclid=IwAR1-A_G4vdu9R6P-Es7_D7oO59K6C01GnSKOjaij3flVE_41jgKbZIoetx0 Depression is an individualized disease: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2950973/ Selective Publication of Antidepressant Trials: https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMsa065779#t=article Side Effects of SSRIs Outweigh the Benefits: https://www.madinamerica.com/2019/06/researcher-critiques-misleading-claims-antidepressants/ Increase in […]

Podcast Episodes

November 6, 2019

Ep 37 Serotonin: The Apathy Hormone

Lucas and Brion talk about the scars they have gathered taking supplements, and the most common mistakes they see people make on their pathway to health. Notes: Glucuronidation: https://selfhacked.com/blog/glucuronidation-detox-estrogen-hormone-balance-prevent-cancer-red-meat/ Black Pepper: https://selfhacked.com/blog/black-pepper-piperine/ Music by Jenny Jahlee from Live at KBOO Home: www.quaxpodcast.com

Podcast Episodes

October 30, 2019

Ep. 36 The Top Five Mistakes of Taking Supplements