Ep 37 Serotonin: The Apathy Hormone

Learned Helplessness and Depression are crucial issues facing humanity today. Serotonin is the key to understanding these issues.

Notes:

What is Serotonin Health Line: https://www.healthline.com/health/mental-health/serotonin#functions

Self-Hacked Serotonin: https://selfhacked.com/blog/serotonin-happy-neurotransmitter/

Depression Article The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/jan/07/is-everything-you-think-you-know-about-depression-wrong-johann-hari-lost-connections?fbclid=IwAR1-A_G4vdu9R6P-Es7_D7oO59K6C01GnSKOjaij3flVE_41jgKbZIoetx0

Depression is an individualized disease: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2950973/

Selective Publication of Antidepressant Trials: https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMsa065779#t=article

Side Effects of SSRIs Outweigh the Benefits: https://www.madinamerica.com/2019/06/researcher-critiques-misleading-claims-antidepressants/

Increase in salivary cortisol with 5-HTP ingestion: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12073163

Combining 5-HTP and SSRIs: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16378695

5-HTP can help nightmares: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15146330

Self-Hacked 5_HTP Supplementation: https://selfhacked.com/blog/5-htp-serotonin-depression-risks-benefits/#comments

Martin Seligman Learned Helplessness: https://operationcleanrecovery.com/learned-helplessness-seligmans-theory-of-depression-cure/

Ray Peat Serotonin, Disease, Aging, Inflammation: http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/serotonin-disease-aging-inflammation.shtml

Ray Peat Serotonin, Depression, and Aggression: The Problem of Brain Energy: http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/serotonin-depression-aggression.shtml

Who Discovered Depression: https://www.verywellmind.com/who-discovered-depression-1066770

New Depression Drug Ketamine: https://www.verywellmind.com/who-discovered-depression-1066770

Saffron: https://www.psychcongress.com/article/saffron-effective-some-antidepressants

Methylene Blue: https://www.apsf.org/article/methylene-blue-and-the-risk-of-serotonin-toxicity/

Products:

Saffron Extract: https://amzn.to/2Oei6NW

Music by Jenny Jahlee from Live at KBOO

Home: www.quaxpodcast.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *